An Existentialist’s Antinatalism

There have been some reoccurring thoughts that I believe may be noteworthy enough to write down at least for myself.

Let’s begin with the reason I started writing to begin with: I’m an existentialist who likes anime. It’s probably not all that uncommon to find people who’d echo this same statement because there may likely be a strong correlation between the two.

Additionally, I am an antinatalist, someone who essentially is against bringing life into this world. There’s likely less of a correlation between this and liking anime here, but I acknowledge it may still be there.

Support of this philosophy does not inherently make someone like me a nihilist, although I’m not denying the oft overlapping relationship between them. People can easily enjoy meaningful lives childfree.

Antinatalism is of course rooted in philosophy, however, I believe there is an economics component, as well, that we may tend to overlook. Economics can be distilled down to the obvious supply and demand, and I would believe choices can be included, as well.

Everything we do is a choice, even when we decide to be inactive.

With the use of statistics and topics of interest, I would like to explain why antinatalism is plausible from an economical standpoint. The way I see it is if it difficult for a substantial amount of to the majority of people to take care of themselves, they should consider not making it worse for themselves while simultaneously imposing that risk to potential offspring.

Leave a Reply

